Spybrary “Shelf of Fame”

Listen to the Spybrary Shelf of Fame announcement here.

Full list of books submitted for the Spybrary “Shelf of Fame.” The books are separated by the era that they are set in.

Pre Cold War era books


The Riddle of the Sands – Erskine Childers

The Secret Agent – Joseph Conrad

Under Western Eyes – Joseph Conrad

Kim – Rudyard Kipling

The Great Impersonation – E. Phillips Oppenheim


Greenmantle – John Buchan

The Thirty-Nine Steps – John Buchan

An Officer and a Spy – Robert Harris

Ashenden – Somerset Maugham

A Coffin for Demitrios – Eric Ambler

Epitaph For A Spy – Eric Ambler

A Toast to Tomorrow – Manning Coles

Drink to Yesterday – Manning Coles


Winter – Len Deighton

Eye Of The Needle – Ken Follett

Enigma – Robert Harris

The Eagle Has Landed – Jack Higgins

Where Eagles Dare – Jack Higgins

Rogue Male – Geoffrey Household

The Girl Who Fell From the Sky – Simon Mawer

Night Soldiers – Alan Furst

Code Name Verity – Elizabeth Wein

SS-GB – Len Deighton

Journey into Fear – Eric Amber

Dark Star – Alan Furst

The Polish Officer – Alan Furst

Spies of Warsaw – Alan Furst

World at Night – Alan Furst

Mission to Paris – Alan Furst

A Small Death in Lisbon – Robert Wilson

The Company of Strangers – Robert Wilson

Los Alamos – Joseph Kanon

Heat of the Day – Elizabeth Bowen

Hot Rail to Hell – Robert Vardeman

The Stone Roses – Sarah Gainham

The Cold War era

The Lantern Network – Ted Allbeury

Judgment on Deltchev – Eric Ambler

The Kremlin Letter – Noel Behn

Heart’s Journey in Winter – James Buchan

Clear and Present Danger – Tom Clancy

The Cardinal of the Kremlin – Tom Clancy

The Hunt For Red October – Tom Clancy

Berlin Game – Len Deighton

Charity – Len Deighton

Faith – Len Deighton

Funeral in Berlin – Len Deighton

Hope – Len Deighton

London Match – Len Deighton

Mexico Set – Len Deighton

Spy Hook – Len Deighton

Spy Line – Len Deighton

Spy Sinker – Len Deighton

The Ipcress File – Len Deighton

Casino Royale – Ian Fleming

From Russia With Love – Ian Fleming

Goldfinger – Ian Fleming

Moonraker – Ian Fleming

On Her Majesty’s Secret Service – Ian Fleming

Devil’s alternative – Frederick Forsyth

Fourth Protocol – Frederick Forsyth

The Day Of the Jackal – Frederick Forsyth

The Odessa File – Frederick Forsyth

Charlie M – Brian Freemantle

Six Days of the Condor – James Grady

Our Man in Havana – Graham Greene

The Human Factor – Graham Greene

The Quiet American – Graham Greene

Northlight – Adam Hall

The Ninth Directive – Adam Hall

The Quiller Memorandum – Adam Hall

The Tango Briefing – Adam Hall

The Warsaw Document – Adam Hall

The Ambushers – Donald Hamilton

A Small Town in Germany – John le Carré

Call for the Dead – John le Carré

Smiley’s People – John le Carré

The Honourable Schoolboy – John le Carré

The Russia House – John le Carré

The Spy who Came in from the Cold – John le Carré

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy – John le Carré

The Company – Robert Littell

The Bourne Identity – Robert Ludlum

The Rhinemann Exchange – Robert Ludlum

Room at the Topless – Ted Mark

The Miernik Dossier – Charles McCarry

The Tears Of Autumn – Charles McCarry

A Magnum for Schneider – James Munro

The Sympathizer – Viet Nguyen

Modesty Blaise – Peter O’Donnell

Other Paths of Glory – Anthony Price

The Anderson Tapes – Lawrence Sanders

Seventeen Moments of Spring – Yulian Semyonov

Harry’s Game – Gerald Seymour

Shibumi – Trevanian

The Little Drummer Girl – John le Carré

The Perfect Spy – John le Carré

The Soul of Viktor Tonko – David Quammen

Running Blind – Desmond Bagley

The Peregrine Spy – Edmund P. Murray

The Better Angels – Charles McCarry

The Secret Lovers – Charles McCarry

A Firing Offense – David Ignatius

Dr. No – Ian Fleming

Agents of Innocence – David Ignatius

Siro – David Ignatius

The Amateur – Robert Littell

The Defection of A.J. Lewinter – Robert Littell

Triple – Ken Follett

The Charm School – Nelson DeMille

The Third Man – Graham Greene

Firefox – Craig Thomas

The Bear’s Tears – Craig Thomas

Sweet Tooth – Ian McEwan

Mr. Calder and Mr. Behrens – Michael Gilbert

The Prodigal Spy – Joseph Kanon

The Defectors – Joseph Kanon

The Good German – Joseph Kanon

The Double Agent – John Bingham

Vulture in the Sun – John Bingham

Legacy – Alan Judd

Seven Days of May – Charles W. Bailey II and Fletcher Knebel

Post Cold War era

A Spy by Nature – Charles Cumming

The Trinity Six – Charles Cumming

Typhoon – Charles Cumming

Chaos in Kabul – Gerard de Villiers

Lord of Swallows – Gerard de Villiers

London Rules – Mick Herron

Slow Horses – Mick Herron

Spook Street – Mick Herron

Europe in Autumn – Dave Hutchinson

Decoded – Mai Jai

Absolute Friends – John le Carré

Our Game – John le Carré

Red Sparrow – Jason Matthews

The Tourist – Olen Steinhauer

The Constant Gardener – John le Carré

A Spy’s Life – Henry Porter

Real Tigers – Mick Herron

Dead Lions – Mick Herron

Body of Lies – David Ignatius

Legends – Robert Littell

A Foreign Country – Charles Cumming

A Colder War – Charles Cumming

A Divided Spy – Charles Cumming

Our Kind of Traitor – John le Carré